Book Review: The Feel Brave Series – Little Stories about Big Feelings

Book Review: The Feel Brave Series - Little Stories about Big Feelings A Mum Reviews

Book Review: The Feel Brave Series – Little Stories about Big Feelings

The Feel Brave series by Avril McDonald is a new collection of five picture books for children aged 4-7. The books are designed to help children explore positive psychology and emotional intelligence in a safe and non-threatening way through the stories.

Each story contains a strategy to overcome a negative emotion and these are demonstrated with the help of a wolf called Wolfgang and his friends. The issues that are tackled in the books are ones that children might be experiencing at home or at school, alone or with friends and these books provide them with the tools they need to feel better.

The topics include:

  • Low self-esteem
  • Change
  • Loss and grief
  • Anxiety and fears
  • Bullying

These are all feelings that most children go through at some stage in their childhood and the books approach these very real feelings and issues in a safe and creative way and ensure the child reading the books knows he or she is not alone and that what they’re feeling or going through is completely normal.

The character Wolfgang is very likeable and children are sure to like him and the engaging texts and the illustrations by Tatiana Minina. Parents and teachers will spot the inspiring messages in the books that encourage children to feel brave again.

 “I have a bold goal… to give ALL children access to tools to help them manage tough emotions and reach their creative potential.”  Avril McDonald

Book Review: The Feel Brave Series - Little Stories about Big Feelings A Mum Reviews

Each book explores a big feeling. In The Wolf and the Shadow Monster Wolfgang is scared of the dark, in The Wolf Is Not Invited he feels left out, in the The Wolf’s Colourful Coat we look at bullying, in The Wolf and the Baby Dragon worry is the big concern and finally in The Grand Wolf we look at sadness from losing someone we love.

Wolfgang has a friend, Spider, who is there to help him and offer him a different perspective. His helpful, kind words and advice encourage Wolfgang to look at things in another way and makes him realise that he has the power to turn a negative feeling into something positive and empowering.

It’s lovely to see more and more books that are more than just entertaining and that tackle serious and important issues that children go through. It can be so difficult for children and parents to recognise these feeling and the books help both to open up and talk about these things through the stories and afterwards. Brilliant!

The books are great if your child is going through one of the situations at the moment but also for all kids so that they can learn beforehand about these different feelings and issues and coping strategies.

Find out more here and buy the books from

I was sent these books for this review. As always, all my reviews are 100% honest and all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *